My Nightstand/ Top Ten Holiday Movies

Why, you may ask, are my Top 10 Holiday Movies listed here at Lisa’s nightstand?  Because I must admit that my favorite companion lately is the clicker.  Sorry, Bill. My apologies to all those wonderful authors whose books I really mean to read.  Are you suffering from the same case of  “I’m too tired to concentrate on a book, so I’ll just turn on the TV instead?”  Are too many “Nanny” reruns getting to you too?

Maybe I opt for the clicker because so many of my favorite movies are shown during this time of year. Here are my Top 10 Holiday Classics, the movies which cannot be interrupted.  Please comment below with yours as well.

It’s a Wonderful Life
:  Best cry of the year.
Miracle on 34th Street: Watch it for Natalie Wood’s face during the bubble gum. Better in black and white.
Holiday Inn: The first time America heard White Christmas (written by a Jew). Whatever happened to Marjorie Reynolds?
White Christmas: For “Sisters” and Vera- Ellen’s vanishing waistline.
The Mortal Storm: If you’ve missed this one, rent it.
The Shop Around the Corner: The original “cute meet”, with Jimmy Stewart and Margaret Sullavan again (also together in “The Mortal Storm”). Musically remade as “In the Good Old Summertime”, with Judy Garland. Latest reincarnation, “You’ve Got Mail”.
Christmas in Connecticut:  Bill’s favorite.
The Sound of Music: Because any day is perfect to see this one.
Scrooge, A Christmas Carol, the 1938 version with Reginald Owen
Since You Went Away, wartime tearjerker with Claudette Colbert

I note that no less than THREE of these movies starred Jimmy Stewart.  My all-time favorite male movie star.  Period.

Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah, Merry Everything, wishing you a very healthy, happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

