Want Obama to Win? Here’s How

I realized this week that I could let you know what is on my mind by blogging my opening monologue from my radio show, Live! with Lisa.  It is in caps because that’s the way I write my scripts to myself. If you know a shortcut to go from all caps to proper small/large caps, let me know.

It isn’t written for the page; it’s written for the ear.   

 

Showdate Sept 20, 2008

 

I HAVE A CONFESSION TO MAKE. I WAS THE ONE WHO WHISPERED IN MCCAIN’S EAR TO PICK A WOMAN GOVERNOR AS HIS V-P ; TRUE STORY- I EMAILED CARLY FIORINA A FEW DAYS BEFORE THE SELECTION AND TOLD HER WHY I THOUGHT THAT WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA FOR THE TICKET. I HAVE NO IDEA IF SHE GOT MY EMAIL. SHE NEVER RESPONDED. BUT I CAN ONLY ASSUME SHE GOT IT BECAUSE OBVIOUSLY SOMEBODY DID SOME LAST MINUTE FACT CHECKING. OF COURSE, THE KIND OF GOVERNOR I HAD IN MIND WAS OUR OWN JODI RELL, WHO IS A MODERATE PERSON, STRONG ON WOMEN’S RIGHTS ISSUES AND HEALTH CARE, AND FISCALLY TRYING TO STOP ALL THE CRAZY SPENDING.  I NEVER HEARD OF SARAH PALIN. HAD I HEARD OF HER AND THOUGHT SHE MIGHT BE CONSIDERED, I WOULD HAVE JUST SHUT UP-

BUT IT IS TRUE THAT NAMING A WOMAN REPUBLICAN GOVERNOR PRETTY MUCH SUCKED THE AIR OUT OF OBAMA’S CAMPAIGN, AT LEAST TEMPORARILY- SO IF YOU ARE AN OBAMA ADVOCATE, LISTEN UP- BECAUSE I HAVE THE SECRET WEAPON TO WINNING THIS CAMPAIGN-

 

IF YOU REALLY WANT YOUR CANDIDATE BARACK OBAMA TO WIN THIS CAMPAIGN, YOU GOTTA REMEMBER THE ONE STEADY TRUTH ABOUT THE AMERICAN PEOPLE IN THE VOTING BOOTH- IT’S THE ECONOMY STUPID.  ALWAYS HAS BEEN, ALWAYS WILL BE-

 

SOMETIMES I WISH IT WEREN’T- I WISH IT WAS THE WELLBEING OF OUR PLANET- BUT IT ISN’T. WHEN YOU WALK INTO THAT VOTING BOOTH YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT YOUR PAYCHECK.  WILL MORE DISAPPEAR INTO THE  WASTEFUL AND INEPT HANDS OF THE GOVERNMENT, OR WILL YOU HAVE MORE OF YOUR OWN MONEY TO SPEND AS YOU CHOOSE?   AND THEN THE SECOND QUESTION YOU ASK YOURSELF  IS,  WHICH ADMINISTRATION IS LIKELY TO MAKE YOU A LITTLE BIT RICHER THIS TIME AROUND?  IF YOU ARE AN ACCOUNTANT- WHO WILL MAKE IT LESS LIKELY THAT BY NEXT YEAR YOUR JOB WILL BE OUTSOURCED TO INDIA?  IF YOU ARE A MED STUDENT, WHICH PARTY WILL SEE THAT YOU CAN EARN A DECENT LIVING AS A DOCTOR? IF YOU ARE A TAXI  DRIVER, WHO IS GOING TO KEEP THE ECONOMY STRONG ENOUGH SO PEOPLE CAN AFFORD YOUR CAB AND YOU CAN STILL AFFORD TO BUY GAS?

 

IF YOU WANT OBAMA TO WIN- HERE’S MY ADVICE- TELL HIM TO CUT HIS TAX PLAN. – RIGHT NOW IT CALLS FOR AN INCREASE IF YOU EARN OVER 250K A YEAR. BUT THINK ABOUT IT- IF YOU TAKE A POLICE DETECTIVE WORKING OVERTIME AND A TEACHER WITH A MASTERS DEGREE WHO WORKS A SUMMER JOB, YOU PROBABLY COME PRETTY CLOSE TO 250K.  I KNOW LOTS OF FAMILIES WHO EARN A GROSS INCOME OF 250K AND THEY DON’T FEEL RICH, NOT EVEN CLOSE, ESPECIALLY IF THEY ARE ALSO PAYING FOR TUITION FOR PRIVATE SCHOOL OR COLLEGE OR HAVE HIGH MEDICAL BILLS, OR THEY ARE A YOUNG FAMILY WITH A HIGH MORTGAGE PAYMENT BECAUSE THEY BOUGHT A HOUSE IN THE LAST THREE YEARS AND PAID AN INFLATED PRICE FOR IT.

 

OBAMA, YOU WANT TO WIN?  SHOW THAT YOU ARE FLEXIBLE- ADMIT THAT THE ECONOMY HAS CHANGED, AND THAT A TAX INCREASE IS THE LAST THING PEOPLE WANT, AND CHANGE YOUR PLAN. IF YOU WANT TO TAX REAL MILLIONAIRES- PEOPLE’S WHOSE INCOME IS OVER ONE MILLION A YEAR, THE INDISPUTABLY RICH,  I THINK YOU COULD GET AWAY WITH THAT- BUT NOT THE ASPIRING MIDDLE CLASS, THE PEOPLE WHO ARE STRIVING TO GET TO THE 250K MARK OR WHO ARE JUST OVER IT. YOU WANT THOSE VOTES?  CALM THOSE PEOPLE DOWN.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

